What Fast Data Science offers, and what it publishes
Fast Data Science builds AI and language-processing systems and advises on AI strategy, technical due diligence and data governance, risk and ethics. Its named case studies include an email-classification project for the UK's Information Commissioner's Office, a clinical-trial risk tool for the Gates Foundation, and work for Boehringer Ingelheim, Tesco and HM Land Registry.
Fast Data Science does not publish a price. It explains how it charges, by the hour or day, by fixed fee or by milestone, and says it prefers milestone quotes; the first meeting is free. It does not publish ISO certificates, professional indemnity cover or any statement on its own use of AI.
Fast Data Science publishes no DPO, DPIA, breach-response or ICO-facing service; governance sits inside its wider AI work. Its team page lists academic and technical qualifications, including director Thomas Wood's Cambridge master's and his expert-witness certificate, but no IAPP, privacy or AI-governance certificate for anyone. Trustpilot shows 4.0 from 3 reviews.
Strengths
- Named client case studies including the Information Commissioner's Office, the Gates Foundation, Boehringer Ingelheim and Tesco
- Explains its pricing approach publicly: project and milestone quoting rather than open-ended day rates, plus a free initial requirements meeting
- Named team with published academic credentials; the director holds a CUBS expert-witness certificate for England and Wales civil cases
- Has an active Trustpilot profile, 4.0 from 3 reviews
Things to check
- No privacy or AI-governance professional certifications (IAPP CIPP/E, CIPM, AIGP) are published for any team member
- Not a data-protection practice: no DPO, DPIA, breach-response or ICO-engagement service is published; governance appears as part of broader AI consulting
- Does not publish organisational accreditations (no ISO 27001/27701/42001) or professional indemnity cover
- Does not disclose how the firm itself uses AI on personal data in its privacy policy, despite being an AI consultancy
Common questions
How does Fast Data Science charge?
By the hour or day, by fixed fee or by milestone. It says it prefers to quote projects in milestones, and the first requirements meeting is free. It publishes no rates.
Is it a DPO or data protection provider?
No. It publishes no DPO, DPIA, breach-response or ICO-facing service. Its governance work sits inside broader AI and data science consulting.
Has it worked with regulators?
Yes. Its case studies include an email-classification project for the Information Commissioner's Office and dashboard work for the Office of Rail and Road.
Evidence for each Fast Data Science score
Show our working
Notes behind each thing to check
- No privacy or AI-governance professional certifications (IAPP CIPP/E, CIPM, AIGP) are published for any team member (fastdatascience.com/team/ lists academic and technical credentials only, checked 2026-07-16)
- Not a data-protection practice: no DPO, DPIA, breach-response or ICO-engagement service is published; governance appears as part of broader AI consulting (fastdatascience.com/data-science-consulting/ai-consulting/ and site services pages checked 2026-07-16)
- Does not publish organisational accreditations (no ISO 27001/27701/42001) or professional indemnity cover (No such disclosures found on fastdatascience.com pages checked as of 2026-07-16)
- Does not disclose how the firm itself uses AI on personal data in its privacy policy, despite being an AI consultancy (fastdatascience.com/privacy-policy/ contains no AI-use or automated decision-making statement, checked 2026-07-16)
| Criterion | Score | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Help when things go wrong | No ICO-engagement, breach-response, DPO or DPIA service published anywhere on fastdatascience.com services or case-studies pages as of 2026-07-16 | |
| Qualifications of the people who do the work | Named team with published academic and technical credentials plus an expert-witness certificate (fastdatascience.com/team/, 2026-07-16), but no IAPP, legal or AI-governance certifications published for any member | |
| What it publishes about fees | Pricing model clearly explained, hourly/day/fixed/milestone options, preference for milestone quoting, free initial meeting, but no figures or worked examples published (fastdatascience.com/how-much-does-a-data-science-project-cost/, 2026-07-16) | |
| Knowledge of your sector | Healthcare/pharma NLP specialism evidenced by named sector case studies (Gates Foundation clinical-trials tool, Boehringer Ingelheim) and published sector tools (fastdatascience.com/case-studies/, 2026-07-16) | |
| Independence from what it sells | No third-party software resale evident on pages checked; builds bespoke systems and publishes open tools such as Harmony, and its consulting pages caution against open-ended day-rate selling (fastdatascience.com/data-science-consulting/ai-consulting/, 2026-07-16); no formal conflicts statement published | |
| Who carries the risk if the advice is wrong | No professional indemnity cover, liability terms or breach-response commitment published on fastdatascience.com pages checked as of 2026-07-16 |
Sources for Fast Data Science
- Companies House registration: Fast Data Science Ltd, company number 11199998, incorporated 12 February 2018 (named FUTURI AI LTD until 16 May 2018), status Active, registered office 55 Sotheby Road, London N5 2UP (Companies House, checked 16 July 2026)
- Service scope: AI and machine-learning consultancy: AI strategy consulting, technical due diligence on AI solutions and businesses, fractional Head of AI, data governance/risk and ethics frameworks, NLP development, training and expert-witness work; no DPO, DPIA or ICO-facing data-protection service is published (fastdatascience.com, checked 16 July 2026)
- Pricing disclosure: Explains its pricing model publicly, hourly/daily, fixed project fee or milestone-based options, a stated preference for project/milestone quoting over open-ended day rates, and a free initial requirements meeting, but publishes no actual figures as of 2026-07-16 (fastdatascience.com, checked 16 July 2026)
- Credentials: Publishes a named team page: director Thomas Wood (Masters in Physics, Durham; Masters in Computer Speech, Text and Internet Technology, Cambridge, 2008; CUBS expert-witness certificate for civil cases in England and Wales), Dr Roy Rosemarin (PhD, LSE) and other named consultants; no IAPP or privacy/AI-governance certifications are published for any team member as of 2026-07-16 (fastdatascience.com, checked 16 July 2026)
- Named client outcomes: Publishes named case studies including the Information Commissioner's Office (email classification), the Gates Foundation (clinical trial risk tool), Boehringer Ingelheim, Tesco, HM Land Registry, Office of Rail and Road and Skills Development Scotland (fastdatascience.com, checked 16 July 2026)
- Independent accreditation: Does not publish any ISO 27001, ISO 27701 or ISO 42001 certification or equivalent organisational accreditation on the pages checked (homepage, services, team) as of 2026-07-16 (fastdatascience.com, checked 16 July 2026)
- AI-use disclosure: Its privacy policy does not publish any statement on the firm's own use of AI or automated decision-making in handling personal data as of 2026-07-16 (fastdatascience.com, checked 16 July 2026)
- PI insurance / liability: Does not publish professional indemnity cover or engagement liability terms on its public website pages checked (privacy policy, services, pricing) as of 2026-07-16 (fastdatascience.com, checked 16 July 2026)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 4.0 from 3 reviews (small sample), listed as a Business and IT Consulting agency in London (Trustpilot, checked 16 July 2026)
First DPO or AI policyRegulated sectors
Where this firm appears
- Do you need a data protection officer?
- Your sector adds its own rules to UK data protection law
- Compare providers
If you represent this firm and something here is wrong or out of date, email hello@theassurancedesk.com with the evidence.
This is an independent editorial guide, not legal advice.